Conjunction Junction What’s Your Grand Junction?

IMG_0204Hooking up words and phrases and clauses“.  Any Schoolhouse Rock fans out there?  I’m an “Interjections” man myself although I know there are lots of “I’m just a bill” crazies in the house.  Leaving late ’70s learning behind me, I bolted this morning out of blizzardy Denver (pic on left) where it took me 10 minutes to clear the snow off my car.  I haven’t had to do that since taking the 7:22am Jersey Coast Line train out of Hazlet heading towards The City.  Speeding West through the Eisenhower Pass the conditions slowly got better and the clouds parted like when Samwise the Strong, Hero of the Age, strode with a flaming sword across the darkened land.

Driving today was a breeze because of all the great sightseeing I was able to do while crossing Western Colorado.  I hadn’t made a conscious decision prior to my departure on Nov 1 to only drive during the day, but that’s pretty much how it’s gone down so far.  I-70 carves its way through huge mountains and the cars weave deep in the cavernous gulches that swallow up 4 cylinders like Lindsey Lohan swallows, ah never mind.  I’ve got lots of pics of the drive that you can see by clicking the link at the bottom of today’s blog post.

Based on a recommendation from Denver Steve, I drove to Colorado National Monument just outside of Grand Junction, hence today’s blog title.  It’s a spectacular drive encompassing 26 miles high atop the mountain’s apex.  Click the vid below for a sample of its beauty.

Leaving the park around 4pm I continued on towards Provo completing today’s 7 hours of driving.  All made easier by listening to the end of Stephen King’s “Needful Things” where almost everyone’s head gets lopped off, three podcasts of “This American Life” and three podcasts of “Stuff You Should Know”.  So what’s your favorite podcast?  Are you NPR obsessed like me or do you lean to the wrong side, oops I mean right side by partaking in repeats of Hannity?

Get ready for another exciting week of ADamVENTURES and don’t forget to click the links for all the pics and vids HERE.